Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating

4(82 reviews)86.6% of customers recommend this property

Rating Per Category

Parking
Noise
Grounds
Construction
Maintenance
Staff

Your Review

Submit a Review

Resident Reviews

Great First Apartmentsubmitted by Grant R. - |Recommended: YesI've thoroughly enjoyed living in this building. It was my first apartment having moved to the DMV area, so granted I have nothing to compare it to. However all things considered, my standard of living has been great. Ill expand on my rankings Parking - Availability Not the best, but at least it's climate controlled. There are several spots on every level that are not at all large enough to fit a standard sized car because pillars are in the way. So you'll have the misfortune of parking on the third level often. Noise Walls are thin. I had a corner unit so I personally didn't have any neighbors. However, my roommate could hear the person on the other side of her wall. She heard everything from 7 00am alarms to 1 00am weekend shenanigans. Construction It's an old building and it shows in some aspects. I lived in a room with outside exposure on two walls, and it was significantly colder than the rest of the apartment. While I do love sleeping in the cold during the winter and having a fan on me during the summer, not everybody shares my sentiment. And unless you're a master interior designer, you'll find the shared spaces to be a bit small. We couldn't find a couch to properly accommodate all three of us. Maintenance We've had a fair few issues in our apartment from blown outlets to regurgitating garbage disposal. However, maintenance is punctual if you call the emergency number. Staff While I do love most of the front desk people, there is one gentleman that's the absolute worst. He works the later shift during the week days, and he makes it seem like picking up a package is the bane of his existence. Put on a smile and show him courtesy and he still won't reciprocate. Otherwise every other person is friendly, helpful and effortful to make a connection with you. Overall the Meridian is a great community of apartment buildings. I'm highly considering moving to the Meridian in either Chinatown or Mt. Vernon area once my lease is up.
response from property -Hi Grant, Thank you so much for sharing this candid review of our community. We appreciate the four stars and that overall you are happy living here at Meridian at Ballston Commons. We recognize that apartment living can be cumbersome at times, but we strive to make sure that we fix issues within our control and always welcome a conversation about any issues you may be experiencing. If you ever need anything, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. We're always happy to help! Sincerely, Ashleigh N.
Great for professions and young familiessubmitted by Ying L. - |Recommended: YesYou can't beat the distance to the metro and other public transportations. Currently, there is a lot of construction that makes day to day loud and obnoxious. Great place if you don't mind those for now.
response from property -Hi Ying, Thank you for the 4-star review! We apologize for the neighborhood construction, however we believe the updates to Ballston Quarter will be well received once finished. We really appreciate you as a resident and thank you for calling the Meridian at Ballston Commons home! Sincerely, Ashleigh N.
Great value for your moneysubmitted by Sarah L. - |Recommended: YesI feel like I am living in a 4 5 star hotel. Everything is very clean and beautiful. Outside is noisy but I don't hear any neighbors. The desk concierge is convenient and the people are so nice. The Leasing office staff however seem a bit negligent and are useless sometimes when trying to help me with my concerns. Overall, great place to live. Worth the money.
response from property -Hi Sarah, Thank you for the 4-star review! We are happy to hear that overall you enjoy calling the Meridian home, however we are disappointed that you have had a negative experience with our team. Our Property Manager would like the opportunity to speak with you in more detail about your experience in hopes to prevent this from happening again. Please reach out to him directly at 703-908-9800 at your earliest convenience. We look forward to speaking with you soon. Sincerely, Ashleigh N.
Good place, great location, great staffsubmitted by Derek - |Recommended: YesBeen here for a little over a year, and here's my 2 cents The units are nice. You're not getting stainless steel or recently upgraded appliances, but things are nice enough. Doors are thin hallway noise . The place is clean and the staff maintenance crew do a good job keeping that way. Everyone is very friendly. The front desk folks are great, I've enjoyed getting to know them. I've requested 3 or 4 maintenance requests, all addressed quickly. Great place if you have a dog which I did , grassy park area right out back, and just a block from neighborhoods and another larger park. Location - 1 2 block from Ballston metro, legit food on 1st floor, walking to restaurants, shops, coffee' places, a mall being revitalized, movie theatre, trails for running biking, and about 3.5 miles from DC. Suggestions - 1 Make the roof-top pool area more fun'. Have events, DJ, live entertainment, etc. 2 remove the racquetball court and build out a kick-ass gym, could even charge extra .
response from property -Hi Derek, Thank you so very much for such a positive review and for sharing your experience with our community and team. We are happy to hear that you enjoy living here! Our team truly values and appreciates your feedback. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can be of more service. Sincerely, Ashleigh N.
Living at the Meridian at Ballston Commonssubmitted by Vance A. - |Recommended: NoWater would leak onto my stove and onto my kitchen floor multiple times, and the maintenance staff was never able to really fix the problem. Some of my neighbors would slam their apartment doors, or allow the doors to slam, which was rude. I would never live at the Meridian at Ballston Commons again.
response from property -Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and share your experience with us. We want to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by the leaks in your apartment. From time to time, leaks will occur in a high rise community. We recognize that this can be a frustrating process, but do our best to get everything resolved as quickly as possible. We we will continue to remind residents to be courteous and mindful of one another as they shut their doors. Our property manager would welcome an opportunity to speak with you more about your experience to see if there is anything else we can do to make Meridian at Ballston a better place to call home and to mend this relationship. We look forward to speaking with you soon. Sincerely, Taryn S.
Great place to livesubmitted by Kimberly G. - |Recommended: YesGreat staff, very clean and spacious
response from property -Wow! Thank you so much for awesome review! We really appreciate you as a resident and thank you for calling the Meridian home! Sincerely, Ashleigh N.
I think that the property is alright.submitted by Brandon A. - |Recommended: YesI would tell them its good but I havent been there long.
response from property -Hi Brandon, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your experience at our community so far! If you ever need anything, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. We're always happy to help! Sincerely, Ashleigh N.
Nice property, good location, responsive maintenance, thin walls, headache to resign with a different roommatesubmitted by Jacqueline S. - |Recommended: YesWonderful place, nice and helpful staff. Get information upfront about resign scenarios. For me it would have been less stressful and probably cheaper to sign a brand new lease with Meridian or elsewhere than resign for my current apartment. One thing that bothered me is that I had to pay the whole 400 for resigning when I had already been approved and this was a deal that was honored 10 months ago when I signed the original lease. I think there should have been at least discount because I chose to stick at the Meridian and have been a good tenant. It's a renters market for large complexes but it does not feel like it.
response from property -Hi Jacqueline, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for sharing your concerns with us. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoy calling the Meridian home however, we are disappointed that your recent experience has been less than ideal. We strive to offer competitive pricing to all of our residents and we feel that an increase of less than 2% is fair as we offer a substantial amount of value by offering amazing amenities, a great sense of community and a high level of customer service. After reviewing our records, we found that the $400 fee that was paid was not for renewing your lease, but for the lease change that took place. We hope this helps clarify any confusion about our lease change policy and the fees associated with processing that change. If you would like to discuss your concerns further please reach out to our Property Manager directly at 703-908-9800. Sincerely, Ashleigh N.
It's OK.submitted by Paula G. - |Recommended: NoI moved in to the Meridian about a year ago and I loved it at first. Things have started to go downhill since then. The walls are extremely thin so you can hear everything. My neighbors will shut their cabinets and I can hear them. Additionally, I really loved how we had 5 elevators in the building, however, they have been broken since the flood.' Recently I have been waiting 10-15 minutes for an elevator and it's quite ridiculous. All of the staff are incredible, they always say hello to me. The front desk crew are extremely nice and remember who I am. As for the front office people, some of them are extremely rude. They are so nice to you until you sign your lease and then they can care less. Everyone in the building knows who they are and I can see them walking around but they are not friendly. I originally was planning on staying another year at the Meridian but once I got the price increase on my apartment I was extremely frustrated. Overall I have enjoyed my time at the Meridian but I am leaving due to the above comments.
response from property -Hi Paula, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your concerns with us. We are happy to hear that overall you have enjoyed calling the Meridian home, but are disappointed that your recent experiences have been less than pleasant. We understand that noise from neighboring apartments can happen from time to time and apologize for any inconvenience this can cause. Occasionally, the elevators will need to be serviced or experience an outage. Currently one elevator is out of service, however a part has been ordered and it will be repaired as soon as the part is received by our elevator technician. This past weekend, we experienced a high number of elevator reservations, so we do recognize that it may have created longer wait times and want to apologize for the inconvenience. We offer flexible lease options and our property manager welcomes the opportunity to speak with you further regarding those. Please call him at 703-908-9800 at your earliest opportunity. We look forward to speaking with you! Thank you, Ashleigh N.
An upscale and affortable apartment in a great part of townsubmitted by Heather T. - |Recommended: YesThe experience you get while living at the Meridian is equivalent to a 5-star hotel. The price is so worth the accommodations, location and staff LOVE living here.
Reviewsubmitted by Lindsay A. - |Recommended: NoI can hear my neighbors dog constantly barking. Absolutely every day. Barking. I will be moving out at the end of my lease just due to this.
N Asubmitted by Marissa F. - |Recommended: YesIt is a convenient and nice place to live with great location and amenities.
Amazing Homesubmitted by Caroline C. - |Recommended: YesThe Meridian at Ballston feels like home thanks to the amazing staff. They are dedicated to helping meet the needs of all of their residents. The facilities pool, gym and all common areas are always well taken care of
Meridian at Ballston submitted by Elmo A. - |Recommended: YesHigh scores all around. One thing stood out that was not excellent. That is the low quality of the interior construction used in the apartment interior and the materials and appliances used. They were of moderate quality at best. This was not significantly important to us as we were on a six month lease and were there part time.
3.5 5submitted by John M. - |Recommended: NoThat the appliances are outdated for what you pay for and there isn't a community BBQ Grill area to cook at like some of the neighbor apartment buildings